Catalogue | Docs |IT|


Piazza dei Cavalieri di Malta, 5
00153 Roma

Phone: +39 06 5791 1

Fax: +39 06 5791 409


Recognition of qualifications in Italy

"Academic titles in theology and other ecclesiastical disciplines, determined in agreement between the Parties, conferred by the Faculties approved by the Holy See, are recognized by the State" (Article 10.2 of Law 25.3 .1985, No. 121, published in the Official Gazette No. 28 of 10.4.1985).

"The academic titles of baccalaureate and license in the disciplines referred to in Article 1 (Theology and Sacred Scriptures) conferred by the Faculties approved by the Holy See, are recognized, at the request of the interested parties, respectively as a university degree and as a degree with decree of the Minister for Universities and Scientific and Technological Research, on the basis of the opinion of the National University Council.

The recognition is made after the assessment of the equal duration of the study course followed by that provided by the Italian university system for academic qualifications of equivalent level; it must also be ascertained that the person concerned has sustained a number of exams equal to not less than 13 teaching years for qualifications to be recognized as a university diploma, and equal to no less than 20 teaching years for qualifications to be recognized as a degree" (Presidential Decree No. 175 of 2.2.1994, published in the Official Gazette No. 62 of 16.3.1994).

Adaptation to the "Bologna Process"

The Sant’Anselmo Pontifical Athenaeum is assuming all the objectives, aims and commitments required by the "Bologna Process", signed by the Holy See in 2003. This process aims to introduce a system of academic titles easily recognizable and comparable, promote the mobility of students, teachers and researchers, ensure high-quality teaching and introduce the European dimension in higher education. An appointed office takes care of the evaluations and the quality process.

The ECTS (European Credits Transfer System)

The European system of accumulation and transfer of credits is a system focused on the student and based on the workload required by a student to achieve the objectives of a course of study, objectives preferably expressed in terms of learning outcomes and skills to be acquired.

1 ECTS credit equals 25 hours of student work, of which (indicatively):

  • 7.5 hours dedicated to the frequency of "frontal" lessons";
  • 15 hours dedicated to the study;
  • 2.5 hours dedicated to the preparation and support of the exam.

The criterion for the assignment of grades in the ECTS field follows a comparative criterion: it proposes a grade in five classes (A, B, C, D and E) in which the profit score is attributed not with respect to the grade submitted for the examination, but with respect to the percentage position that such a grade occupies in the referenced grading series.

Applying it to our case, we would have a distribution in five classes as defined:

ClasseQualificaVoti (SA)Descrizione ECTS
ASumma cum Laude9.75-10.00corrisponde ai voti ottenuti dal
migliore 10% degli studenti
BMagna cum Laude 9.00-9.74corrisponde ai voti ottenuti dal
successivo 25% degli studenti
CCum Laude 8.25-8.99corrisponde ai voti ottenuti dal
successivo 30% degli studenti
DBene probatus7.25-8.24 corrisponde ai voti ottenuti dal
successivo 25% degli studenti
EProbatus6.00-7.24 corrisponde ai voti ottenuti dal
10% finale